Sjur Usken

Views on new technologies and business opportunities from Sjur Usken

My Internet enabled coffe machine


OK, I was tired of the coffee machine at work. The coffee was no good.
And we were not allowed to buy another machine, since we already had two (of same kind, same terribly coffee)

What do you do?

You make the coffee machine as part of one of your projects. I’m working on smart houses, so that part was easy. The harder part was to find a cheap coffee machine with an Ethernet plug. I dismissed that quite fast and did it the hard (wired) way.

Part 1.

Get an automatic machine that does the most things (I did not find one with automatic cup dispenser)
I found a quite cheap one, approx 500 USD (3000 NOK). It had electronic buttons in the front which I presumed I could modify.

Part 2.

The harder part. Get to the circuit board to the buttons. Of course, these are compact machines and the circuit board are not made for being “serviced” easily. I had to unscrew approx 30 screws and dismantle most of it to get the right part out of it.

I soldered 4 wires, two for the button for single coffe and two for the double strength. The switch just needed a short-circuit to activate.

Then I connected the wires to a relay (capable of 230V, but I just use it as a switch). This was again connected to a smart controller from Sensio.

Now I order coffee through my iPad. Great!

 

 

2 responses to “My Internet enabled coffe machine

  1. jason @ Voip October 19, 2011 at 1:41 am

    Watch out! You’ll have robots going on strike if you can do everything from an ipad!

  2. Pingback: 4G Communications: Have We Seen It All Before? | Jinny Software Ltd

Leave a Reply

